• PGA championship leader, Dustin Johnson, put out for grounding club.

    January 11, 2014

    Tags: , , , , ,
    Posted in: Golf

    Video Ranking: / five

  • Recent Comments

    • RBZ Golf said...

      1

      you can ground your club in a bunker with no rake…

      01/11/14 11:43 PM | Comment Link

    • huskair said...

      2

      I didn’t realize they allowed fans to walk all over “bunkers” at Major
      Championship courses.

      01/12/14 12:24 AM | Comment Link

    • coolram52 said...

      3

      @bwcrackhead Well, 90% of the people think he got screwed. You are in the
      minority. And he *was* thinking…he was thinking about how to get his ball
      on the green. He wasn’t thinking “hey, is this patch of dirt a bunker?” Did
      you notice that when he hit the ball it wasn’t a spray of sand that came
      up, it was a cloud of dust.

      01/12/14 12:35 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      4

      @sketto i dont know if ever in walking around in the woods have i ever seen
      an area where there was an obvious lip on an area covered in WHITE SAND.
      this was a bunker clear and simple.

      01/12/14 1:31 AM | Comment Link

    • Rjn0101 said...

      5

      @OrchidDada grounding the ball is when your club touches the sand anytime
      prior to your swing. I am not sure exactly why they made it against the
      rules… but it just is. Possibly because if that rule did not exist you
      could move the sand around to your liking before making your shot

      01/12/14 2:23 AM | Comment Link

    • doracrossedtheborder said...

      6

      where is the rake

      01/12/14 3:12 AM | Comment Link

    • Defiantest said...

      7

      Tough call, on whether it’s “really” a bunker (seems like a helluva lot of
      footprints in there around the ball, if it is), but good man-up and aplomb
      on Dustin’s part to accept the judgment with such grace and manners. I hope
      we will hear much of this gentleman in the future, and that his integrity
      brings the reward it deserves.

      01/12/14 3:55 AM | Comment Link

    • coolram52 said...

      8

      @bwcrackhead How is not a bunker? Well for one thing fans are not allowed
      to stand in bunkers. Johnson saw lots of fans in the “bunker”. He said
      several times when he was interviewed that it never even crossed his mind
      that it was a bunker. He’s seen thousands of bunkers in his career, and if
      he didn’t think it was a bunker, it wasn’t. And if it was, the officials
      should have shooed all those fans out of there. Sandy soil does not a
      bunker make, especially when it’s outside the ropes.

      01/12/14 4:12 AM | Comment Link

    • coolram52 said...

      9

      @bwcrackhead Yes, he should have asked if it had “crossed his mind” that
      this might be a bunker. As he said, it *never* crossed his mind that this
      was a bunker. I don’t blame him; I was watching live and just thought it
      was a patch of dirty, grass-covered, sandy soil. If that was designed as a
      bunker, it’s stupid, especially due to its location way off the course.
      Bottom line is that what he did gave him no advantage. It’s a
      spirit-of-the-rule vs letter-of-the-rule thing.

      01/12/14 5:09 AM | Comment Link

    • HSGolfer2 said...

      10

      Shittiest bunker ive ever seen

      01/12/14 6:06 AM | Comment Link

    • Bruce Sa said...

      11

      It;s funny how all those fans r wearing the same kind of shoes lol faggots

      01/12/14 6:36 AM | Comment Link

    • IowazFullaCorn said...

      12

      I am so mad about this. I hate the PGA.

      01/12/14 7:09 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      13

      @coolram52 definitely a crappy bunker. i agree on that. but…..rules is
      rules……

      01/12/14 7:47 AM | Comment Link

    • martian59 said...

      14

      It’s clearly a bunker you nimrods. Look at how the hillside is cut out and
      sand dominates the immediate area. Whether it is taken care of or not is of
      no consequence. If it is ground under repair, it would have been outlined
      by a white line but it wasn’t.

      01/12/14 8:20 AM | Comment Link

    • Robert Andrews said...

      15

      He was done before he even set up because his caddy, Bobby Brown parked his
      bag in the bunker while they were talking about the shot, which is a
      penalty.

      01/12/14 9:16 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      16

      @basa820 it’d be like going to a basketball game and all those invalids are
      wearing jordans…….gay on 2 accounts.

      01/12/14 9:16 AM | Comment Link

    • sketto said...

      17

      How about, prior to the tournament just calling it “not a bunker” rather
      than pretending it is, handing out flyers, warning players, posting it in
      the locker room, allowing fans to walk all over it and then penalizing
      players for something affected by random fans walking on it? Or does that
      make too much sense?

      01/12/14 9:22 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      18

      @StretfordReds i see that you’re infatuated with me…..its a bit scary.
      and as for not knowing anything about golf…..i dont know how you can
      infer that from anything ive said.

      01/12/14 10:11 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      19

      @jamessalvant agreed.

      01/12/14 10:20 AM | Comment Link

    • Shnooka30 said...

      20

      This is crazy…No way thats a bunker!

      01/12/14 10:59 AM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      21

      @coolram52 if it never crossed his mind then he wasnt thinking…..im a
      nurse….if i assumed stuff —-people would die. he depends on every
      detail to win a course…..at that level nothing should escape his
      assessment. its what he does for a living.

      01/12/14 11:23 AM | Comment Link

    • Sketto8 said...

      22

      @bwcrackhead Well, he still seems like a tough competitor mentally, so
      let’s hope he’s in a major again soon with another chance to put it away.

      01/12/14 11:48 AM | Comment Link

    • szsori said...

      23

      Unfortunate, but pretty obvious that he broke the rule. Even more clear
      knowing the memo they gave to the golfers before the tournament. Regardless
      of his intent, rules must be enforced absolutely otherwise every rule can
      be debated in every situation.

      01/12/14 12:08 PM | Comment Link

    • OrchidDada said...

      24

      @Rjn0101 Thanks Rjn.

      01/12/14 12:48 PM | Comment Link

    • bwcrackhead said...

      25

      @transamjames he is good….but he shouldve read the rules of the course
      before playing….they wouldnt post such things if they didnt think they
      would be useful….kind of like speed limits….theyre not suggestions. if
      you disobey….you will be penalized. and he was.

      01/12/14 1:25 PM | Comment Link